Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     TCNJ Today

tcnj wordmark

Environment Team Goes to DC

WASHINGTON, DC – This weekend, several TCNJ Bonner Community Scholars from the Environment Team traveled to Washington, DC to show their support for the environment and protest against the Keystone Pipeline. Bonner Scholars Regina Zick ’15, Shayna Innocenti ’16, Jimmy Jaramuzchett ’16, Tarika Mahal ’15, and Nick DiMauro ’15 traveled down to Washington, DC on Sunday and stood outside the White House calling for clean energy, stopping the Keystone Pipeline and focusing on climate change. The students truly embodied the civic engagement value of the Six Common Commitments from the Bonner Foundation – “We participate intentionally as a citizen in the democratic process, actively engaging in public policy and direct service.”

The Bonner Environment Team works closely with the Sustainability Institute and Sustainable Municipalities in New Jersey, as well as with the President’s Climate Commitment Committee (PC3) on various issues related to the environment. The Sustainability Institute at The College of New Jersey is a “think and do tank” focused on societal capacity to understand and act on the major issues of our day. We see unsustainable development as a crisis of governance. The PC3 was established with the signing of the American College & University President’s Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) by President Gitenstein in the Spring of 2007. The agreement calls for the development of a comprehensive plan to achieve climate neutrality for our campus. It gives tangible actions that we will initiate in order to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The Bonner Environment team works with both organizations towards their respective goals of achieving sustainability and reducing the College’s carbon footprint through various initiatives including the iCarpool Initiative, the TCNJ Demonstration Garden, America Recycles Day, promoting awareness through an Environmental Film Series, and helping establish and support Green Teams in local municipalities.

Bonner Community Scholars (from left) Tarika Mahal, Jimm Jaramuzchett, Shayna Innocenti, Regina Zick, and Nick DiMauro
Bonner Scholar Regina Zick.
Bonner Scholar Jimmy Jaramuzchett.
Bonner Scholar Tarika Mahal.
Bonner Scholars Shayna Innocenti, Jimmy Jaramuzchett, Tarika Mahal, Regina Zick, and Nick DiMauro.